Album Review: YBNL Nation – YBNL Mafia Family

The ”YBNL Mafia Family” album was released in the early hours of Friday, December 14, 2018 and we are here to give our general review of the album.

Olamide is famously known for taking young talent acts from grass to grace in the music industry (Adekunle Gold and Lil Kesh are obvious witnesses to this statement) as he used the release of the album to promote his new signees.

The 13-track album features the likes of  Picazo Rhap, Yomi Blaze, Limerick, Lil Kesh, Fire Boy, Temmie OvwasaLK Kuddy, Kizz Daniel,Kranium, Lyta and DJ Enimoney. Missing the presence of Davolee. But with top notch production which features the likes of Pheelz, Killertunes, 2Kris and Cracker Mallo.

1. Welcome – Olamide

This was an important role for the YBNL boss as he took the introductory part and Pheelz Mr Producer comes through as usual with a kind of old school hip hop touch to accommodate Olamide’s rap.

‘Welcome’ is everything you expect from an Olamide with a bouncy beat, a groovy flow and him singing about money and his lifestyle with good verses but over-labored hook.

2. Oke Suna – Olamide

Olamide switches it up to a full Fuji vibe. The bounce, the progression, the lyrics were all on point as he glorifies the woman’s body on this song. Pheelz is basically showing off his mad skills here and a typical Olamide’s album will never be complete without a song like this.

3. Macaroni – Picazo X Olamide

The fast-rising rapper Picazo makes his first entry as he comes with huge expectations as he was not taking chances  with his fast-flowing use of words and sound and also possesses some good word play skills.

SEE ALSO  Album Download: YBNL Nation – YBNL Mafia Family

That energetic, raw and unbridled flow of his stays a charm with Pheelz magic production. He is going at it aggressively, explaining whatever ‘Macaroni’ means to him. Olamide chose the right song to jump on. After letting the young man enjoy himself on the beat, he came through to show who the boss really is.

4. Motigbana – Olamide

This pre-released anthem which comes complete with a unique dance style is one record you can’t help but enjoy every time it comes up and is also a good contender for song of the year after it stormed airwaves for many months.

5. Jealous – Fire Boy

Fireboy shows with his is made off here with flows from the conventional pop to the Igbo vibes. He is singing heavenly about love, riding through the verses very effortless with his melodic chants.

6. Ika – Olamide X Yomi Blaze

Yomi Blaze goes hard on this one with well coordinated verses and chorus as went on with ease and murdered the beat wickedly with an influenced sound production by Pheelz. Olamide matches the youthful energy but with much vulgarity and no clear punchline.

7. Send Her Money – DJ Enimoney X Olamide X Lk Kuddy X Kizz Daniel X Kranium

Opens with a Samba type of beat as Olamide sang along like a drunk Mexican. The guest verses help to make the track enjoyable, Lk Kuddy‘s goes well on his verse, Kizz Daniel‘s distinct style shines through and Kranium also complements this quite well. Production, progression and melody were all lit and DJ Enimoney should be fully satisfied.

SEE ALSO  Top 10 Controversies In The Music Industry (2018)

8. I’ll Be Fine – Fire Boy

The Boy sure deserves some accolades on this as it is labelled of the album’s best track as he seemed to be doing better than his other label-mates.

The track was dedicated to the hustlers as he sang about his journey so far with some meaningful content and was had some pains in him assuring himself that “He’ll be Fine”Pheelz added violin to this one to make the song excellent.

9. Poverty Die – Olamide

Another pre-released record that makes the album a prayer themed gyration joint, ‘Poverty Die.’ Olamide showed his true potentials here as he did what he does best excellently and you surely can’t help but flow along.

10. Fire Down – Fire Boy X Picazo

Fire Boy is doing his thing again as he forms a good chemistry with Picazo here and the rapper comes in with that ‘Durosoke’ flow following his boss, Olamide‘s footsteps.

11. Le Le Yi – Lil Kesh X Fire Boy

It was heartwarming to have the YAGI boss, Lil Kesh on this one as he switched up his style of music providing the added weight to Fire Boy‘s light presence as the duo served up a record that has what it takes to grow into a street anthem.

12. Lie – Olamide X Limerick

One of Nigeria’s most underrated rappers, Limerick comes through on this one and he did not disappoint. He sure knows how to weave his words and understands the catch in making rap musical as he talked about events, switching between playful and serious and Olamide gave the rising rapper space to shine as he just took on the hook, making Limerick the real star here.

SEE ALSO  Album Review: Peruzzi - Heartwork (E.P)

13. Finally – Temmie Ovwasa X Fire Boy

Temmie finally gets her shine time here as she is brilliantly teamed with Fire Boy to bring some delightful vocals in this love story. Their smooth voices does the work perfectly as it did not cloud each other but made the energy turn into a wonderful piece.

Final Review

While everyone looked forward to Picazo and Yomi Blaze, Fire Boy is the gem that stole the headlines with his unique features. Davolee‘s presence was fairly missed and it would have been good to hear more from Picazo, Limerick and Yomi Blaze. Although it was still a wonderful work as he introduced his artists to the world. Overall we are rating the album 7/10

You can Download the album here